Project 333 – Thoughts From Day 22

wpid-IMG_20130327_172538_070.jpgI’m now 22 days into this experiment in paring down my closet, and I thought it might be time for another update.

For those just getting here I started this month by joining Project 333 for the first time, a 3 month long challenge which entailed taking about two thirds of my wardrobe, packing it away in a tote, and moving it to our storage building for now. You can find the original post here.

I wasn’t sure how easy or difficult it would be when I started, even though I didn’t wear a ton of clothes to begin with. It was just a little scary those first few days, looking at the gaping hole in the closet where the rest of my clothes used to live and not having the options I had before.

Now, 22 days in, I have made a few mistakes, learned a few surprising things, and can honestly say I really do enjoy it and will continue on when this 3 months is up. It makes me proud to look at my clothes and realize that I’m really only using what I need, and I’m looking forward to going through a full 4 seasons of this and finding out what my resulting wardrobe looks like.

Here’s a few bullet points… mistakes, surprising revelations, high points, etc.

I think my most surprising realization was the effect that this has had on my overall happiness. I didn’t realize this benefit until about a week and a half in… I looked in the mirror one day, and for about the 4th day in a row said to myself “You look pretty good today, good on ya!”. Because I don’t always talk to myself, but when I do I want to sound like an Englishman from the 1800’s.

The point being, that by having to choose my absolute favorite clothes I now end up wearing something I love every day. By extension, even though I’m wearing the same clothes more often, I feel better about myself. And ya know what else? Nobody notices or cares that I wore that shirt six days go. I logically knew this would be a benefit, but I don’t think I expected it to have an effect on my overall mood and self confidence, so that was a neat surprise.

– I lost my cardigan for several days (it fell to the bottom of the closet behind Marty’s shoes, and I didn’t look for it hard enough apparently) which really messed up some outfit choices! I did eventually find it, but the whole ordeal confirmed that for me, in this season, it’s a staple of my wardrobe.

– There have been a couple of times that I’ve gotten a little frustrated because something I wanted to wear was in storage. It was never a style issue, it was actually all weather based… we had a really cold snap and I ended up being outside for extended periods twice during it. But, other than my one cheat (see below) I managed to get by. And I realize that the frustration wasn’t at the challenge itself, or the lack of enough clothes, but at my own failure in choosing the right clothes for our weather. I’ll know better next time around hopefully.

– I did end up cheating once. I didn’t keep a long sleeved shirt out originally, I had a pullover and a cardigan, but there are times in early spring that a long sleeved shirt layered under a t-shirt is the best choice. We had a ballgame to go to on a particularly nasty cold evening, and I didn’t want to freeze to death for the sake of my experiment. So I found a long sleeved shirt that I hadn’t taken to storage yet (it was in the wash at the time), I had thrown it in the back of the closet to take later. Even with the long sleeve, my pullover, and the North Face jacket I still froze! I hated to cheat, but not enough to be even colder for those couple of hours. That also reaffirmed the fact that I need a long sleeve at all times, just in case!

– I bought a few things yesterday, which were mostly upgrades to things I already had, but two of them did have to be swapped into the closet and something else removed. I took out my North Face jacket until this fall and replaced it with a bit lighter weight zip up sweatshirt that I bought on clearance. I also swapped out a strapless shirt for a long sleeve shirt I picked up (also on clearance). The strapless shirt will probably come back out for the summer round, but I really won’t have much chance to wear it until then. I’ll be better equipped to make realistic choices based on the weather from now on I think.

I don’t buy clothes very often, but I’d like to eventually have a smaller wardrobe made of higher quality pieces… so I picked these two well made shirts up on after season clearance, as well as a pair of really nice, thick, comfy lounge pants, and a nice running shorts/tank set (did I mention it was a great clearance sale?!). I then swapped out two pairs of pajama pants that worn out or didn’t fit, a pair of running shorts that didn’t fit well, and several pairs of pajamas and a few workout shirts. I think all in all I came out with less items and more quality, so no buyers remorse here.

So far my overall impression of Project 33 = really positive. I’ll be joining up again at the end of this season for sure… hopefully you’ll join in if you haven’t already!

Leave a Reply

