Project 333 – Cleaning out the closet… again

wpid-IMG_20130321_170656_178.jpg

Have you heard of Project 333?

If not, the quick and dirty of it is you choose 33 items from your wardrobe – including shoes and jewelry, but excluding underwear, workout clothes, and pajamas – and box up the remainder to be placed out of sight for the next 3 months. You then live with what you’ve chosen as your sole wardrobe, with the exception of a few items you may swap out if you feel like you made a mistake initially. So basically, you’re dressing every day using some combination of the same 33 items. You can find out all you ever wanted to know and more over at the Project 333 website. It’s really a very cool idea I think.

I’ve known about the project for some time but never took the steps to join in before due to laziness or busyness, or some combination of the two. Then today some random clicking of links led me back to the project page, and I realized a new phase of the challenge was starting April 1st… what great timing! Especially considering my closet just went through a rather large purge anyway, and I’m still not entirely happy with the amount of clothes I kept. I think this challenge will be a great way to pare down further and make myself look at my clothes differently. There are still a few things that I’ve kept because I like them, albeit don’t wear them very much. I’m also a bit curious as to how many items of clothing I actually have now, and I think it will help me with my goal of only owning things I love and wear regularly.

I also like the idea of joining a group of people nationwide (worldwide?) all working towards a common goal. So, starting April 1st, I’ll be joining in on Project 333 for the first time! I’ll take a count this weekend, with pictures, and post how many items I have to begin with and what I’m keeping. The weather will be an interesting opponent, it’s snowing and frigid today but looking at 70’s next week, but I think with some creative layering I can get past that.

Does anybody else want to join? Have you done something similar? If you know how many items you own and use now let us know!

7 thoughts on “Project 333 – Cleaning out the closet… again

  1. janeanddavid

    What a great project! We did this same thing, although quite by accident, not knowing about the website. We just got back from a 6 month trip where all clothing (except specialized sports items like ski pant and biking shirts) had to fit in a 16″ x 8″ basket. Now, I’m having great fun going through all the clothes we left behind, donating and selling as I go!
    – Jane

    Reply
    1. The Snazzy Turtle Post author

      Wow Jane! That seems like it would be tough! Although I’ve said it before, we just don’t ‘need’ that much do we? I can’t wait to purge some more of my own stuff, it’s a bit addictive!

      Reply
  2. Jim

    Pulled out 6 pair of pants, 4 long sleeve, & 4 short sleeve shirts today to take to Good Samaritan this week! Lowered the total by 14!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Project 333 – Thoughts From Day 22 | The Snazzy Turtle

  4. Pingback: Don’t Forget To Enjoy The Trip | The Snazzy Turtle

  5. Pingback: Project 333 – 2 Months In | The Snazzy Turtle

  6. Pingback: It’s That Time Again – Project 333 Season Finale | The Snazzy Turtle

Leave a Reply

